The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-06-2015, 01:48 AM   #1
Coronadj

Advice on a ls swap.

Hey guys so I have a 1969 c10 shortbed i started to work on.Its a slow build but its moving along. I just got a 5.3 ls motor with a 4l60 it came out of a crashed 2007 silverado. I got it as a package deal for $1500 with 60,000 miles on the motor and trans but Im only 16, still in high school its my first project truck. I want to swap in the 5.3 but I don't know how to wire it up but some guy in my area that been doing ls swap says he will charge me $2800 to swap it in but he say i still need to buy the motor mounts, tranny mounts, and headers. But i feel that its a lot of money he is asking for! but i don't know anyone else around me to help me with the swap.

My truck came originally with a 250 inline 6 and sm465. I kind of want to keep the sm465 in the truck and mounting the 5.3 to it. I know its nice to have a auto but I kind of like the 4 speed. An maybe later just swapping it to a 4l80 because i hear the 4l60 isn't to good once you start adding power.

But my real question is that I don't really want to spend $2800 on the swap, I was thinking of putting a carb on the 5.3 and selling the FI and trans and using that money on something else for the truck like disc brakes lol. The truck is completely stock with drum brakes all the way around. Before i bought the motor I was gonna put disc brakes and put a custom under the bed fuel tank but I thought the motor was to good of deal.

Name:  IMG_6375.jpg
Views: 744
Size:  40.2 KB

Name:  IMG_6378.jpg
Views: 748
Size:  44.8 KB
Coronadj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 01:55 AM   #2
Coronadj

Re: Advice on a ls swap.