The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-20-2015, 11:37 AM   #1
Isaiah92260

Need help with clutch adjustment

Hello everyone, I am new to chevy's my clutch used to grind Badly before it would go into 1st and reverse when I first got it. I adjusted it as much as I could into there was no more thread on the rod, still would grand a lot. This weekend I noticed that there 3 bolts on the drivers side missing for the tranny and motor mounts together -,- so I installed some Misc. bolts that I had in my arsenal and now the clutch was so close that's foot was practically off the pedal before it finally started engaging. So I backed it out a little. But it still grinds, no a lot though, but enough where I'm not gonna complain because it's a huge improvement, but the reason why I'm postin here is because I'm not sure exactly how I am suppsed to adjust te clutch too, how much free play do I need? Or how do I check? I'm used to Vw's so I'm not too sure where the clutch needs to be based on my experiences, I lot to ask questions so I can do things right, thanks
Isaiah92260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 11:59 AM   #2
jtrichard

Re: Need help with clutch adjustment

about 1.5" free play ....sounds like you have OIL on the clutch disc
jtrichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 12:05 PM   #3
Isaiah92260

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrichard View Post
about 1.5" free play ....sounds like you have OIL on the clutch disc
That much? Wow that's very little, but very good to kno, thank you.... Oil? Is that the reason why it grinds? It is pretty oily and sludgy on the bell housing and oil pan.... How do I clean out the oil without pulling the motor from the trans?
Old 07-20-2015, 02:24 PM   #4