The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-19-2015, 02:25 PM   #1
Birdz85

C10 pro street HELP

Let me start first by saying my name is Josh and I'm new to the board! I have been building an 85 c10 for 2 years or so now and I'm to the point in the project where I need a axle that'll handle the power I'm putting to it because the 10 bolt isn't going to like it much. Any ways I joined this forum because I'm in the market for a ford 9 inch and wanted to talk to a few or as many guys as possible as to what width their axles are and what size rim and tires, C notch? Etc etc.... I have attached a pic of my truck as well, still under construction!
Attached Images

Birdz85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 02:28 PM   #2
Birdz85

Re: C10 pro street HELP

Lil hopped up 355
Attached Images

Old 09-19-2015, 02:41 PM   #3
65standard

If you're going pro street, any 9" will do since you have to narrow it anyways. If you're not going pro street, just upgrade to a 12-bolt. They're plentiful, cheap, and strong.
Attached Images

1953 Chevy 3100 392 Hemi w/727 & 9” Ford
1985 Chevy C/10 6.0L 4L80 373 locker
65standard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 02:49 PM   #4
Birdz85

Quote:
Originally Posted by 65standard View Post
If you're going pro street, any 9" will do since you have to narrow it anyways. If you're not going pro street, just upgrade to a 12-bolt. They're plentiful, cheap, and strong.

I'm definitely going 9inch route, I guess my question was more as to what width were guys narrowing them to? I'm thinking about buying a nice used posi chunk and then a housing and axle kit from mouser

85 SWB Mike Thompson 355/ FTI Turbo 400
Old 09-19-2015, 03:03 PM   #5
65standard