The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-08-2015, 09:53 PM   #1
stevenk

First Post / Couple Questions

Hello!

Hope I'm posting this to the right spot.

Short story long:

I inherited a '68 c10 from my father who passed away last spring. We restored these trucks my whole life. This truck was completely restored however 2 weeks before he passed away he rear ended his other truck (new chevy) with this '68 in a round about.

So I finally got this out to Portland and I have a couple questions that I'm hoping to get some help with. I'll be lurking for quite a while to try to learn as much as I can. Motorcycles are my usual go to so I'm totally new to this.

Any help is appreciated!

1- I had a dim headlight and i successfully fixed that by properly grounding the wires. I'm not getting any tail lights or reverse lights however the license plate light does work. It's been raining here so I haven't had a chance to pull apart the taillights but do this sound like a fuse issue? Ground issue? Let me know. If it is a fuse issue, can someone direct me to a fuse chart? Google doesn't seem to get me anywhere.

2- When i start it, it fires up however when I drive it i get a really bad knocking nose. I can actually feel it in the floor boards / gas pedal. I've read online it could be a "spark knock" but that's about as far as i got.

3- the oil pressure goes all the way up when i start it. If i let it run it actually goes back down about halfway. However, if i hit the gas and rev the engine it goes all the way up. Any ideas?

Lastly here is a list of things I know about the truck:

- It's a 327 small block

- it is fuel injected. No carbs on it. I believe the fuel injector came off a mid 90s chevy.