The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-08-2015, 11:11 AM   #1
03BlkZ

Newbie here!

Well I say newbie but I grew up with this truck. My father bought this 1970 short bed C10 new in 1970 and daily drove this truck for 30 years. When my brother and I learned to drive this was the first vehicle we ever drove and 3 on the tree at that! In year 2000 when I bought my first Camaro my dad bought the truck that I was driving and put the C10 in the shop. Its basically been sitting there since then. He always said he was going to restore/fix it up but hasn't done anything with it yet. That being said he is retiring in February after a 40+ year career is auto paint and body. I recently asked if he wanted to sell it to me or if he was planning to do something with it after retirement and he wasn't ready to part with it but thanksgiving weekend he handed me the keys and asked if I wanted to do 50/50 on the restore and he would put my name on the title since I do have other siblings. My sister doesn't want the truck and unfortunately my older brother has fallen on hard times after a divorce and he cant afford to pitch in so I lucked out and now have a C10. I am excited to get started not only to have a project but also for the opportunity to spend precious time with my dad. I'm just glad he is wanting to do something with it where we can both enjoy it and then hopefully I will have something pass down someday.
Here a few pictures. Excuse the junk and plants that are all around the truck but I didn't have time to move all this crap. That is step one in the project. Clean out dads shop! I look forward to this project and I plan to post updates once we get started. Cheers!!!