The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-13-2015, 10:28 AM   #1
fireman68

68 c10 fuel tank problem

Hi all, newbie here. Getting read to start my first frame off restoration, well first restoration ever for that matter. I have a 68 c10 driver and im having issues wit the fuel tank leakig. What's happening is with temperature changes the tank is pressurizing itself and leakin a little bit of fuel behind the seat where the fuel line connects to the sending unit. When i remove the gas cap i get a rush of air and a face full of gas fumes. Im a firefighter and i know how dangerous this can be in a inclosed garage which is why i have moved the truck tk my detached garage away from ignition sources. Im at a loss as to what to do about this, any advice? Thanks.
fireman68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 10:35 AM   #2
LockDoc
The Older Generation

Re: 68 c10 fuel tank problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireman68 View Post
Hi all, newbie here. Getting read to start my first frame off restoration, well first restoration ever for that matter. I have a 68 c10 driver and im having issues wit the fuel tank leakig. What's happening is with temperature changes the tank is pressurizing itself and leakin a little bit of fuel behind the seat where the fuel line connects to the sending unit. When i remove the gas cap i get a rush of air and a face full of gas fumes. Im a firefighter and i know how dangerous this can be in a inclosed garage which is why i have moved the truck tk my detached garage away from ignition sources. Im at a loss as to what to do about this, any advice? Thanks.

This one is easy, go to the local auto parts store and get a vented gas cap.... You have the wrong cap on it.