The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-27-2016, 01:31 AM   #1
Mrturner1

Trying my hand at custom dash, pointers please

Hey guys, I'm thinking about a custom dash that holds 2 or 3 autometer gauges. I'd like to mount my trans temp, oil pressure and water temp in the holes, and put the holes to the left of the steering wheel.

Here's the thing, I've never done anything like this before and I don't even know what materials to use. I have my dash to work with, and the gauges, and a willing spirit lol. What kind of material do you guys use? Fiberglass? Spray on or paint on? What can I use to make the cups for mounting the gauges? And what do I use for smoothing it out before paint?

I appreciate any help and pictures I can get

Matt
Mrturner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 01:32 AM   #2
Mrturner1

Re: Trying my hand at custom dash, pointers please

Kinda like this
Attached Images

Old 02-27-2016, 02:13 AM   #3
toolboxchev

I used a large piece of U shaped aluminum. It is not fancy right now, but functional.

I can polish it in the future to meet those needs.
toolboxchev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 02:38 AM   #4
F.A.A.benny

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrturner1 View Post
Kinda like this
To try and achieve that look, I would probably use steel tubing and tig weld it
F.A.A.benny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 07:29 AM   #5
Grumpy old man