The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-10-2016, 03:36 PM   #1
Hotdog

1406 eldelbrock carb

Hello I'm a newbie. Needing some help pretty please.
1971 c-10 pick up. Motor is a 350 sbc 14010207 year 1980-1985. Heads are 3917291 camel hump 1.6/1.94. Rebuilt.
Intake is the eldelbrock performance RPM. New 1406 600cfm electric choke eldelbrock carburetor. New HEI msd street fire 8362, new plug wire I made made my self and check with ohm meter. Hope there good. new camshaft is a jegs part#200004. 282/282. New lifters, push rods and rocker arms. 1.5. Th350c transmission. Been haggling with it for a year now. I have a 2 yrs old son as to why it takes a while he won't let me out of sight lol Everything else is original. 40 hg on vacuum. Timing set at 16/18. Plugged or cap off no difference in vacuum advance.
I adjusted timing and carburetor with vacuum gage. To the highest reading.
Fuel regulator set at 5.5. Fires right up.
I had a leak at passenger exhaust. Put a new one on, Canceled that sound Now it sounds like my lifters are knocking on passenger side. Readjusted lifters no difference. spark plugs are black soot all 8.
Carburetor is new and no upgrades. 1/2" spacer.