The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-24-2016, 09:45 PM   #1
DakotaKid08

1955 3200 2nd Series Frame Swap Ideas

Hey guys this is my first post on here and looking for some help on a project I'm working on. I have a 1955 second series 3200 long bed that I plan on shortening the bed and putting on a new frame. I have thought about sub framing and cutting the frame back but needs new drive train so thought finding a running driving chevy pickup would be my best bet. I'm a body technician and don't have much mechanical skills so would be nice to keep brakes and drive train all on the new frame and swapping the cab and bed over. I have done some searching and believe a 74-88 chevy half ton will work with some fabing of the body mounts. I believe those frames are longer then then a 3100 but might work out nice as I plan on shorting my longbed anyways... I can get a 85 2wd half ton for 800 with 350 running and driving... not sure what the rear end is. Do you think that would work or any ideas on a different style frame? Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks, Shawn
DakotaKid08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 10:17 PM   #2
Rude Dude

Re: 1955 3200 2nd Series Frame Swap Ideas

First you better sharpen up on mechanical skills they are still old trucks, you got me at body technician you guys use wrenches all the time. There are kits that have brackets to swap C10 chassis to older trucks just remember the foot print of the tires will be out some. But your a body technician you should be able to handle that google is your friend plus I cant remember who but a member on here sells what your looking for. Good Luck
Rude Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2016, 10:30 PM   #3
joedoh