The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-10-2016, 07:29 PM   #1
badherb

Post steering shaft and u joints and rag joints and double D and......

OK! I had one million questions regarding the whole list of parts available for a steering system; from steering wheel to power steering box or manual box; which I don't care about since I have power steering but much should apply to the two systems equally.
Having said that I’m not an expert but I spent about 4 hours researching the web to find out everything I could because I WAS ignorant of everything in the system. Here are some terms being thrown around:
Double D: a shaft the looks like two Ds stuck together back to back.
spine size: 3/4 30 spline, 3/4 36 spline, 13/16 36 spline, 1 inch 40 spline. Everything seems like Greek language until we break it down.
Rag joint: dampens steering vibrations
Steering dampener: rag joint on steroids. And twice the $.
U joint: universal joint to help with steering intermediate shaft angles.
Support bearing: required if using two or more u joints.
35 degrees: max angle of a u joint. need two or more if over.
Don’t weld!
Here is the system I have and the info you may need to rebuild or fab up your own system when you don’t know everything that is there.