The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-27-2016, 04:34 PM   #1
Lookin4the1

Upgrading Cam and valve train

I've come into a bit of good luck (maybe?) with my wiring setup and ecu. I have neither. I'm buying a psi harness(brand new) and a ecu for my lq4 with 4l80e that has already been wiped. The only issue is it was tuned for a certain cam. Luck would have it, the guy im buying it from has the cam as well. (The previous owner went in a different direction after 1000 miles.

now to my question. When I purchase this bundle deal. What else am I getting into? Here are my thoughts:

The cam: TSP 233/239-112

springs: pac 1219

retainers: PAC Racing 300 Series Valve Spring Retainers PAC-R310-16

I'm new to this so I'm not sure what retainers to get.

push rods: completely lost.

in conclusion: please help. I'd like to end up with a little better performance than stock. what better time then with the front end off and half the accessories and intake already off anyway?
Lookin4the1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2016, 07:45 AM   #2
zach_carver

Re: Upgrading Cam and valve train

If I was you I would contact BTR Racing, Brian tooley and ask them what to use cam wise and cam kit. Brian tooley is a big hitter with LS performance and he has some nice cams. The reason I say this is because this is what ill be doing when the time comes.

LINK TO SUPER SNOOPY C10 BUILD---> http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=689283

1977 C10 SILVERADO HAWAIIAN BLUE, 5/5" DROP, LS6/4L80E

1976 CHEVY K5, 350/350, YUBA GOLD/SADDLE
zach_carver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 09:21 AM   #3
homemade87