The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-10-2016, 01:24 PM   #1
nikwho

'68 GMC - use of universal radiator?

Hello everyone,
I'm new to the 67-72 trucks, but I've been on the forum for a while with my '53 GMC and '59 Apache. This forum (along with my cousins hot rodded '69 Chevy that we raised hell in as teenagers) has increased my appreciation of the 67-72 trucks. I knew that I wanted a slant nose, big window cab with four lights, so I was pretty set on a '68 GMC. When I bought my '59 Apache home I wanted nothing more than to get a '57 clip on it. But, the 4 lights grew on me! Anyway, on to my question. I believe that the radiator in my '68 came from the '86 C-10 donor truck from which the front suspension and rear axle came from. It has an automatic transmission cooler, but was bypassed because of a leak. I saw that a solder repair was atempted evident by a splatter of solder on the steering box above the return tube on the radiator. I was going to order a stand alone cooler and call it good enough. My truck has a brand new TCI transmission and I want to make sure that it's protected.