The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-26-2017, 02:36 PM   #1
klwebb

More power out of a 350?

I'm new to the whole adding horsepower thing. My 77 Silverado has a 350 in it. With the t350 tranny. It has true dual exhaust with I think flowmaster 40s. I want to put cherrybombs on though. Guys I bought it from (for $800) didn't know a whole lot about and it's past but they said it had been rebuilt a couple years ago. It runs really well, never let me down. But you can't have too much power, right? I've read about cams, intake, headers, etc. I'm on a super tight budget. What are some decent ways to get some more power out of these small blocks? What would you do first?
1977 Silverado longbed 350/350
1978 K10 shortbed 350/t400 lifted 6 inches on 33s
"LONGBED LIVES MATTER"
klwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 02:51 PM   #2
72bowtiestepper

Re: More power out of a 350?

Before throwing a lot of money into your 350, I would do a basic compresion check to see if the engine is in decent shape. Then a good tune up...new plugs & plug wires if needed. Also. cherry bomb glasspacks are not going to give you more power than the flowmasters you already have....just more noise. If you don't have headers....start there before going the big carb & cam route.
72bowtiestepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 03:48 PM   #3
Dead Parrot

Search this forum for threads on timing and carb tuning. Those are the quickest and cheapest way to get a few extra horses and probably a bit better mileage as well. The stock timing and tuning was designed more to pass emissions standards then to maximize performance or economy.