The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1960 - 1966 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-04-2017, 01:01 PM   #1
msg

66 c10 sound system advice?

Ive tried asking in the audio section and not had much luck so I figure since I am looking for 66 specific maybe some of you guys can give some advice.

There hasnt been a working stereo in my truck since I bought her in 96. I have been restoring her for a few years now and I would like to keep her original looking but with the modern bells and whistles. Currently the truck is dismantled and will need a new wiring harness.There is no sound system at all. The snooping I have done so far lead me to Custom AutoSound, RetroSound, and found a guy in Tennessee that takes a core unit and converts to AM/FM stereo/Aux input/USB port/Blue-Tooth with Voice Command, Aux/USB cables, 8GB thumb drive, Mic, Warranty, for 645.00 + the core and shipping.

I was hoping as most would, not to get carried away and get a nice looking and sounding system going and the bluetooth would be great but not a must. The cab I also wanted to not modify meaning keeping the doors and kick panels stock but under the bench and out of view I think is where I would try to add the rest of the sound system. Anyone been down this road and had some success?
Old 10-04-2017, 02:50 PM   #2
damnyankee36

Re: 66 c10 sound system advice?

Mine is still a work in progress, but here's my plan:

I found a manufacturer of repo head units that look like the factory unit but with modern internals for about $550. http://www.classiccarstereos.com/196...uck-radio.html

For speakers I grafted in some speaker grilles in the dash and rear cab corners. The pattern is modeled after the pattern of the dash center speaker. They will accept 4" x6" speakers.