The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 02-03-2018, 03:11 PM   #1
zap387

Unhappy 350 does not want to idle correctly

Just got a new to me 78 camper special with a 350. It does not want to idle correctly it idles rough and shakes a little bit and sometimes stalls out. Someone poorly wired in an electric fuel pump and its pushing about 3.2 PSI for fuel. It does well revving but it wont idle well, it has a new Edelbrock 1406 600 carb. It has a single plane weiand 7546 intake and all new vac lines. I checked the vacuum and it bounces rapidly between 16 and 19 inches of mercury. According to all my research it looks like i might have worn valve guides, but i am not sure. I have some experience with LS stuff but this 70s small block is far off from what i usually work on. Any advice would be appreciated.
zap387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 03:39 PM   #2
Richard2112

Re: 350 does not want to idle correctly

Bad valve guides will tend to make the engine use/burn oil. One way to check that is look for blue smoke at the exhaust, and your oil will smell like gasoline, although that isn't conclusive. Pull the plugs and look for heavy/oily deposits. A compression test is helpful also. If the guide is leaking oil into the cylinder, it can cause a higher than normal reading.

Also, check the cheaper/easier stuff first, timing plug wires, dist cap/rotor...
Richard2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 04:10 PM   #3
Bandit130

Mopar by Birth
Chevy by Choice
Bandit130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 04:45 PM   #4
zap387