The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-04-2019, 09:46 PM   #1
SavageC20

Saddle Tank Fuel Line Routing???

My 72 C20 has two aftermarket saddle tanks installed on it. I currently have them bypassed and am running on the stock tank in the cab. There is an old Stewart Warner electric fuel pump (model 240a I believe) under the cab. I am trying to figure out how these lines were routed and how it all works. Does the electric fuel pump fill the stock tank from the saddle tanks? What role does the three way valve play? It's my first time dealing with something like this.

Also, is this fuel pump worth rebuilding and running?
Attached Images

SavageC20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 12:50 AM   #2
kwmech

Re: Saddle Tank Fuel Line Routing???

All the trucks I've had with saddle tanks just used a gravity feed system with the 3 way valve
kwmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 02:11 AM   #3
SavageC20

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwmech View Post
All the trucks I've had with saddle tanks just used a gravity feed system with the 3 way valve
Yeah I don't really see a need for the fuel pump. I wonder why it was on there? Maybe to transfer fuel to main tank? Does anyone have a diagram of something like this?

Last edited by SavageC20; 04-05-2019 at 03:27 AM.
Old 04-05-2019, 10:32 AM   #4
B. W.

There is a diagram in the factory manual - I think it's in the service manual but it may be in the assembly manual, can't remember.

Use the search bar, select our site, not google. Go to images, there's some pics of the hose routing.
B. W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 11:35 AM   #5
Steeveedee
Who Changed This?