The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-06-2019, 11:31 PM   #1
Abomb

Quick question about changing front coils

I’ve watched a couple of videos, as I’ve never done this before, and they always pop the upper ball joint loose, after tying up the calipers. I have drum brakes, why not just pop the bottom ball joint and drop the lower arm? That way I don’t have to remove the brake hose from the wheel cylinder, leading to rebleeding the brakes...I haven’t even removed a wheel yet to start this project, still waiting on my rear spring retainers in the mail...so let me know if there’s a reason not too...

Abomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 02:32 AM   #2
junkman

Re: Quick question about changing front coils

I've always done it by popping the lower balljoint and tie rod loose, bottom shock bolt, sway bar if has one, push the control arm down and pop the spring out. I don't think I've ever done a drum tuck, but several disc trucks and not taken the caliper off. I just had my front springs in and out about 5 times a week ago cutting them to get the right height.
junkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 08:19 AM   #3
saxart

I just replaced the springs on the front of my drum brake truck and did it by popping the upper ball joint and was able to leave the brakes connected. It was a tight fit, but the brake lines were just long enough to sneak the new (standard height) spring back in and get everything put back together.
Old 04-07-2019, 02:52 PM   #4
6T7 C10