The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-02-2020, 12:29 PM   #1
blazer2007

recommendations on 350 starters

Have a stock 350/350 in a 80 1/2 ton truck with the big old starter. was wondering about the smaller ones on newer vehicles, something I can buy at NAPA . I know some fit, I think they were called Denso ? I have a cracked flex plate so might as well make both parts new. I don,t want to order anything from Summitt etc. shipping and duty to Can. kills you and sometimes slow due to the virus crap.
blazer2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2020, 01:18 PM   #2
Ziegelsteinfaust

Re: recommendations on 350 starters

The mini starters are great, and I have been using them for going on 20 years when needed.

For your truck the you have it described it is overkill, but it won't hurt anything if that is what you want.

If you feel the starter you have now has not worked great it is usually due to the switch. It sends voltage to close the big solenoid on the starter. Using a relay with voltage direct from the battery shores up those issues nicely.

A cherry on top for stock engines, but really nice for higher compression engines or overly tuned. Just anything that is harder to get started. Is to put a momentarily open switch to cut power to the HEI, and when the starter hits full speed you let off the switch.

Last edited by Ziegelsteinfaust; 11-02-2020 at 01:23 PM.
Ziegelsteinfaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2020, 02:47 PM   #3
Dead Parrot

I think the term you are looking for is "Gear Reduction Starter". I have seen lots of threads about them. Many folks love them. Several have had lots of problems. Do your research.