The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-04-2021, 04:12 PM   #1
begNOpardon

Engine Starter Engaging When Key Turns to ACC or ON!!

I have a 71 C10, HEI, Powermaster Performance starter. I’m having some electrical issues. My engine is now starting anytime I turn the key either to ON or ACC. if I turn it all the way to START it just grinds badly. Starter is aligned well w/proper gapping and engages/disengages properly. The only way I can start and drive is to pull the brown ACC wire from the back of the ignition switch.

Any help would be appreciated. I feel I’m pull rope from both ends rather than figuring out the simplest ways to find the root cause. Seems like possibly a grounding issue that’s causing a loop but not sure how to find it. Any help, suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Lemme know if you need more specs or images.
Posted via Mobile Device

Last edited by begNOpardon; 09-04-2021 at 05:42 PM.
begNOpardon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2021, 04:28 PM   #2
dmjlambert

Re: Engine Starter Engaging When Key Turns to ACC or ON!!

Make sure you only have the purple wire going to the start post on the starter, and don't have other wires such as yellow going to that same post. My 2 cents.
dmjlambert is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2021, 05:43 PM   #3
begNOpardon

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmjlambert View Post
Make sure you only have the purple wire going to the start post on the starter, and don't have other wires such as yellow going to that same post. My 2 cents.
Yes, double checked all wiring to starter. Starter is solid.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-04-2021, 06:34 PM   #4
Getter-Done

Pictures would help us help you.