The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-27-2004, 10:36 PM   #1
Mountain Man

Another Question - electric to Manual pump change back

I have lots of Q's tonight.

On the 72 I am looking at, the owners buddy had an electric fuel pump installed , because he had a dual carb intake on the 350.

It is now back to standard manifold, with QJet. I think that the fuel delivery is too much for the current setup, and if I buy the truck, I immediately want to put the mechanical fuel pump back on.

I have lots of questions on how to hook up a mechanical fuel pump, as I have never done this repair before.

Is an Edelbrock pump a good one, to go to a performer 1406 carb, or is it a waste of money, and a standard generic pump for a 350 good enough?

My other question is can I just unbolt the pump cover plate, and simply bolt a mechanical pump back on with little effort? Does the lever that sticks inside the block have to connect to something, or does it just go right in with no problems? any tricks or issues that I should be aware of?

Sorry for the dumb questions, but I have never changed a fuel pump before. I just think that I dont want an electric one, and want to put it back to mechanical.
A/C dash
Factory tilt
350 / 350 power train - with Edelbrock components.
Mountain Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2004, 10:52 PM   #2
Wootdog

electric is better

as far as I have been told. If I remember right, and I have had a few a beers at this stage of this evening. If you go back to the manual setup, the manual runs off of the cam you have installed. I have tried both and have both at this time, I like the electric setup better. You mechanics, tell him what is up. I am a novice anyway. Kerry