The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Racing and high performance (trucks haulin more than hay)

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-12-2009, 06:52 PM   #1
Hart_Rod

Boost gauge question....

I just installed an Autometer 3301 boost/vacuum gauge on my 383 with a vortech supercharger. I have a question about normal operation of the gauge. At a steady 60 mph/2800 rpm/4psi boost, the needle flucuates so fast you can barely read it (+/- 3 psi). I'm new to superchargers and this is my first boost gauge, but that just doesn't seem right. I installed it exactly like the autometer instructions said and used the port that Vortech recommended. Do I have a leak? Any suggestions? OBTW, it's in the in the same port that goes to my MSD 6BTM box. Thanks in advance.

R/

Last edited by Hart_Rod; 10-12-2009 at 08:00 PM.
Hart_Rod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 08:50 PM   #2
1FAST68

Re: Boost gauge question....

I have done a bunch of blowthru procharger stuff. Where exactly is the gauge hooked to on the engine. If it is showing 3psi driving normal sounds like you have it above the carb, it will never show vacuum.

What is the setup? carb, fuel inj, and does it have bypass valve.

70 suburban
350 tbi swap, 700r4, work in progress
1FAST68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 09:04 PM   #3
Hart_Rod

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1FAST68 View Post
I have done a bunch of blowthru procharger stuff. Where exactly is the gauge hooked to on the engine. If it is showing 3psi driving normal sounds like you have it above the carb, it will never show vacuum.

What is the setup? carb, fuel inj, and does it have bypass valve.